Welcome back?

I’ve been quite lackadaisical at blogging, non-smoking, concert going, exercising, doing cool stuff, etc… all of the above except for work. Loving the new job, but it is turning out to be quite the ass-kicking contest.

I’m cereal — I come home and I’m in total couch potato mode. NO MAS! I haven’t turned into a fatty McFatterson yet, but am concerned that if I don’t do something soon, I’ll let the grind seriously debilitate me. I don’t even have any funny stories to tell except for the fact that I have watched a lot of internet tv as of late. I’m embarrassed, but I actually watched Heathers last week. That’s 90 minutes of my life I am never getting back. Barbra Walters should be calling any day now for my big fascinating interview.

So here’s the new deal:

  1. Tuesday, January 17th is the first day of my new life as a non-smoker.
  2. So, that’s really my only plan.

There are a few things that I need to take under consideration:

  1. The smoking sitch at work: The liberties have been great for making friends. But I need to cut it out. A) I’m waaay to busy to smoke. B) I feel like I smoke more now than when I tended bar. Once you make it a work habit it’s a hard mother effer to break. How will I know that the work day is passing if I don’t smoke?
  2. I’ve moved to a cute little place closer to the city that and farther from my parents basement. It’s very trendy and urban. However, there aren’t any close gyms nearby. Lots of Yoga studios, which deserve their own post… but it’s almost like I have to drive all the back to the suburbs to get a work out in. It’s dark and urbany and who am I kidding… like I’m going to run before work in the a.m. It also happens to be dark and ubany when I get home from work. So there’s that. Maybe I need to  join one of them sports clubs… I gotta brainstorm…
  3. Blogging: The last thing I want to do when I come home is sit by a computer and type. Holy carpal tunnel. “Hey guys, look at my sweet new neckbrace…” Although my recent discovery of Spotify is making that a little easier. I highly recommend it.
  4. There is a giant possum outside my door. HUGE! Completely unrelated, but still gross. It’s made a little burrow underneath the neighboring house. If it gets any bigger, I’ll be purchasing a saddle and riding it work.
  5. What else? I can think of a million other excuses. Quit smoking? Whaaat? Why? Be right back… going to grab a puff…

That’s not very promising, but beginning the conversation is a step in the right direction.

Wish me luck.

0 Responses to “Welcome back?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

