So completely irrelevant, but…

The other night I ended being up way too late and watched this horrible talk show that was focused on women’s poor body image. It really saddens me. First of all that there is a show on TV that is worthy of discussing body image, when there are so many serious “f’d” problems in the world, sickens me.  Man, love what the good Lord gave you already. One of my fellow bartenders at work who is skinny as a rail has the nerve to complain about being F.A.T. She’s literally microscopic. It’s one of those instances that make you feel, “Wow, if you’re fat, what am I, Jabba the Hut? I hate to say this, because it’s almost socially unacceptable to admit it, but I’m actually completely happy with my body. Granted, I could be a lot smaller in some parts of my body, have less “beauty” marks, golden skin, etc… the list could go on and on, but I digress… My point is, who you are and how you feel about yourself should depend a lot more on the life you lead.

Wait. This post started out about how I want to banish low-rise jeans. Seriously I hate them. I dunno. Since my favorite skinny-22-year-old, button-fly-high-waisted-that-hug-me-in-all-the-right-places jeans were vandalized past the point of of wearable, I have a new appreciation for high waisted jeans. Seriously, as a grown woman with a waist that starts just before my shoulders begin, I rally for the re-invention of what some may call “mom-jeans”. If I buy lowrise jeans that fit where fashion designers think my waist is, I end up looking like I have a dump in pants. Conversely, if I buy jeans that fit my behind, the low-rise jeans cut right into my my stomach. Giving me what some would affectionately call a “Muffin Top.” How many times have you been out and about and seen ladies pulling up the drawers? If these women had access to jeans that were actually held up by the small of their waist, this would be a non-issue. Anywho, I never had to pull up my 22-year-old-button-fly’s. They came up to belly button. Big deal. It’s not like I’m in the business of wearing belly shirts anyways.

I guess what I am saying is that poor body image might be a design issue. That’s all.

(P.S. They were 22-year-old jeans because I bought them when I was 22 years old. Not 8. God, I loved those jeans… they’re getting their own play-list.)

SCRATCH EVERYTHING I JUST WROTE: Check these puppies out!
Why didn’t I think of these?

Pajama Jeans

You’re welcome.

1 Response to “So completely irrelevant, but…”


  1. 1 Christina October 20, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Kuddos! There is nothing sexier then a woman who feels she can be sexy in mom jeans. I’m requesting that your next post belittle all the guilty parties that continue to by spandex laced white leggings. There is nothing this could be used for other then pure entertainment!


Leave a Reply

