Spring Playlist

So this weather makes me want smoke my ever living mind out. I want to cut class, drink patio beers and smoke cigarettes. Sorry, but it’s true. In addition, there were some administrative issues that made me a hot mess last week. (I’ll explain in greater detail when I don’t feel like it is quite so end-of-the-world-esque.) In lieu of cigarettes, how ’bout a spring playlist? Here’s some new/old gems that make you want to rock out… of course there is a hip hop spring mix on the way…
  1. Home by Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros
    This is my newest love. You can’t listen to this song and be in a bad mood. It’s simply just not possible. It’s got that folksy, spring, camping, road-trip feel. Plus it’s just such an endearing duet love song. At the end when the dude tells the girl about how he first knew he loved her, your heart just melts. Plus there’s like ten people in the band. Isn’t that considered an orchestra in certain circles? They are coming to Cleveland in June if anyone is up for it, let me know…
  2. Free Energy by Free Energy
    Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, no? My future husband Jason Mulgrew of JasonMulgrew.com pimped this song on his blog a few weeks ago. He is hilarious and has enlightened me to several music jems over the past couple years and has never steered me wrong. I’m pimping this song because A) It rocks. B) Their whole album Stuck on Nothing rocks. C) I’m hoping to garner Mulgrews attention by referring visits from my blog to his by my five friends that read this blog. Never laugh at someone’s dreams, it might be all they have…
  3. Funky Tonight by The John Butler Trio
    This is the absolute jamming concert song. This is the song that makes the whole entire crowd jump up and down in a united sea of bouncy people. This song has so much positive energy it’s re-g-damned-diculous. What’s that you say? Put’s you in a spring mood? You are welcome.
  4. Danger! High Voltage by The Electric Six
    Where do I begin with this one. For starters: Why the hell isn’t this playing on the radio? Secondly, Did someone say spring fling? (In the words of Britney Murphy in Don’t Say A Word: “I’ll never tell…”, but so far it’s been firggin awesome.) Here is some fantastically clever music trivia ditty via Wikipedia. (Scroll down to Mainstream Success). That Jack White is so clever. If Jason Mulgrew won’t marry me, he’ll be a solid replacement.
  5. Cold Beverages by G. Love and the Special Sauce
    Oldie, but goody. Hells yeah. If this song doesn’t scream summer BBQ, then I don’t know what does. If they were good enough for Coors Light, then they are good enough for your spring playlist.
  6. To the Dogs or Whoever by Josh Ritter
    Not necessarily springy. Not necessarily new. But new to me. I have no idea what this song is about, but I’ve been singing it at the top of my lungs in the ol’ Carolla nonetheless. I just love the intro: “Deep in belly of a whale I found her…” If there were a movie made of the antics and catastrophes in the life and time of me, this might play during the opening credits.
  7. Fit But You Know It by The Streets
    These boys are my new favorites. A) Comon, you have to admit this song is not only clever, but also catchy. B) I used to hate British accents, and then I met Simon (story seriously to come, I promise.) This song reminds me of him and his mates. C) This song made it’s way to me via Glen Howerton who plays Dennis Reynolds on It’s Always Sunny in Philidelphia. The whole gang had an iTunes celebrity playlist. So to review: I ♥ that show. I ♥ that Dennis. This song is boss. No further questions.
  8. Blessed by Brett Dennen
    Speaks for itself. Okay, I’ll elaborate. This song came my way via someone that suks. Double sukks. However, his departure is a blessing. Plus seriously, it’s a great song. One that I will sing with my kids when I have a few. It’s got a great spring beat.
  9. I’ve got a Feeling by the Beatles, of course performed by Pearl Jam
    Cause really, what’s a playlist without Pearl Jam? (I’ll try and leave them off the upcoming hip hop list.) This song just beckons great things to come. Spring is a taste of Summer… Which of course is right around the corner. I’ve got a feeling it’s going to be a good one…
  10. Two Step by Dave Matthews Band
    Possibly one of my favorite songs of all time. It is certainly my favorite Dave Matthews song. It pretty much embodies everything that is awesome in all of the songs on this list. Talk about quenching…

    So recently my friend Brian and a small group of friends were discussing this upcoming summer and his lack of need to be a grown up in this stage of his life over dinner. I, of course, concur. (Seriously… I’m thirty, I live like I’m in college (Part 1) and work six days a month.) It’s really not as fun as it sounds: I spend a lot of my time worrying about when I’m going to find a real job (a family/house/hubcap) like the rest of my friends, but I digress. Brian proposed a toast: “This summer is about one word: It starts with ‘F’… and ends with ‘UN’!”

    So this song shall be my spring motto, because sometimes things fall apart, rainy days clot your calendar, sometimes you screw up on your student loans, there will never be enough money, we get old, our parents get old, sometimes you eff up and smoke, sometimes you take a lover and he moves away, sometimes we loose our jobs, get demoted, fail tests, the list is endless —But Mr. Matthews has a good point: “Life is short… but sweet for certain… we climb on two by two…” Let’s mentally get on the fun train. Summer is just around the corner.


Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones
1 Response to “Spring Playlist”


  1. 1 marley beans April 17, 2010 at 1:06 am

    love “Fit But You Know It!” There is another Brett Dennan one that is super catchy…”Make You Crazy”—I L-o-v-e that song!

    Oh Stacey, we totally need to get together soon. I am gasping for air in these last few weeks of school…miss you!


Leave a Reply

